NEWS
Sunday June 23 2013
Italy-Brazil ref admits error

Referee Ravshan Irmatov “admitted he made a mistake” during Italy’s second goal against Brazil.

The Uzbek official clearly blew the whistle and pointed to the spot to award a penalty for the Azzurri before Giorgio Chiellini put the ball in the net.

He immediately turned round and pointed to the centre-circle, effectively assigning the goal that was scored after play had been halted.

“He has admitted he made a mistake,” said FIFA spokesman Pekka Odriozola today.

“Once you blow the whistle, you have to stop the play and cannot give the advantage. Irmatov is not looking for excuses, but he explained the situation. It all happened very quickly.”

Think you know your Italian football? Share your knowledge, tips and comments to win cash prizes in OLBG's World Cup tipster competition - £10,000 to be won!

FOOTBALL ITALIA RELATED NEWS

TODAY'S FRONT PAGES