VAR confusion over Venezia-Bologna penalty decision

The penalty awarded to Venezia in their 4-3 win over Bologna is causing a great deal of controversy, as much depends on what view the referee was given on the VAR monitor.

The incident occurred with Bologna leading 3-2 and allowed Mattia Aramu to equalise.

It was Aramu who went down after he was caught on the ankle by Gary Medel.

From one camera angle, it seemed to be very clear that Medel caught Aramu’s ankle, albeit fair to say the Venezia player did precious little to stay on his feet.

Serie A Highlights: Venezia 4-3 Bologna

However, from another camera perspective, Medel appears to get the ball first, move it out of the way and only then graze Aramu’s foot on the follow-through.

The VAR Lorenzo Maggioni called referee Livio Marinelli over to view the incident again on the monitor, but even after the on-field review, Marinelli stuck with his original decision.

It remains to be seen what angle Marinelli was shown on the monitor, as this may explain why the spot-kick was awarded.

One Comment on “VAR confusion over Venezia-Bologna penalty decision”

  1. I don’t care about that match but this is one of the most comedic decisions I’ve ever scene.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *