The penalty awarded to Venezia in their 4-3 win over Bologna is causing a great deal of controversy, as much depends on what view the referee was given on the VAR monitor.
It was Aramu who went down after he was caught on the ankle by Gary Medel.
From one camera angle, it seemed to be very clear that Medel caught Aramu’s ankle, albeit fair to say the Venezia player did precious little to stay on his feet.
However, from another camera perspective, Medel appears to get the ball first, move it out of the way and only then graze Aramu’s foot on the follow-through.
The VAR Lorenzo Maggioni called referee Livio Marinelli over to view the incident again on the monitor, but even after the on-field review, Marinelli stuck with his original decision.
It remains to be seen what angle Marinelli was shown on the monitor, as this may explain why the spot-kick was awarded.
#VeneziaBologna, poco da dire: l’intervento di #Medel su #Aramu è prima pulito sul pallone con il piede sinistro (📸 DAZN). Sì, successivamente c’è una punta del sinistro sul sinistro del giocatore Veneto, ma confermare questo rigore dopo On Field Review a mio avviso è un errore. pic.twitter.com/9CiazlSOg9
— Errori Arbitrali (@erroriarbitrali) May 8, 2022