The Lega Serie A have officially revealed their three-player shortlist for the midfielder of the year prize as part of the division’s annual MVP awards, including Atalanta playmaker in-chief Teun Koopmeiners, Scudetto winner Hakan Calhanoglu and Milan wide-man Christian Pulisic. 

There are several prizes up for grabs upon the end of the 2023-24 season, including the equivalent awards for goalkeepers, defenders, and attackers, as well as the U-23 player of the year, and the league’s overall MVP, which will be announced directly, without a shortlist, on May 24.

This is the sixth season in the current Serie A awards format. 

Serie A confirm that the awards are based on a number of different metrics, including stats recorded from tracking data and the ‘scientifically validated’ player rating system, which measures players’ in-game impact, movement and decision making. 

Former Serie A midfielder of the year winners

Last season’s awards were dominated by Napoli representatives, as the Partenopei were crowned Scudetto winners for the first time in well over 33 years. 

The 2022-23 Midfielder of the Year, however, was awarded to an Inter delegate in Nicolo Barella, who played a pivotal role, not only in the league, but also in the Nerazzurri’s run to the Champions League final. 

In fact, Inter players have claimed this specific award three years in succession, as Marcelo Brozovic picked it up in 2021-22, while Barella also claimed it in 2020-21. The two other previous winners were Papu Gomez of Atalanta and former Lazio midfielder Sergej Milinkovic-Savic. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *