The Lega Serie A have officially revealed their three-player shortlist for the Striker of the Year prize as part of the division’s annual MVP awards, including Milan’s Rafael Leao, Paulo Dybala of Roma and Juventus leading goalscorer Dusan Vlahovic.

There are several prizes up for grabs upon the end of the 2023-24 season, including the equivalent awards for goalkeepers, defenders, and midfielders, as well as the U-23 player of the year, and the league’s overall MVP, which will be announced directly, without a shortlist, on May 24.

This is the sixth season in the current Serie A awards format.

Serie A confirm that the awards are based on a number of different metrics, including stats recorded from tracking data and the ‘scientifically validated’ player rating system, which measures players’ in-game impact, movement and decision making.

Previous Serie A Striker of the Year winners

Last season’s awards were dominated by Napoli representatives, as the Partenopei were crowned Scudetto winners for the first time in well over 33 years.

Last year, the Striker of the Year prize was handed to the division’s top goalscorer in Victor Osimhen, who was pipped to the overall MVP award by his teammate Khvicha Kvaratskhelia.

Previous winners include Lazio captain Ciro Immobile, Cristiano Ronaldo during his Juventus spell, Immobile once more, and Fabio Quagliarella of Sampdoria in the inaugural year.

2 thought on “Serie A MVP Awards: Striker of the year shortlist revealed”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *