Rosetti says ‘offisde rule must be improved’ after Mbappé’s goal in Nations League Final

by | Oct 15, 2021 12:47

UEFA’s chief refereeing officer Roberto Rosetti says Kylian Mbappé’s goal in the UEFA Nations League Final was rightfully allowed although the rule goes against its principle and ‘must be improved.’

France won the Nations League Final against Spain last week, but Kylian Mbappé’s winner caused controversy.

The PSG striker ran onto the Theo Hernandez through ball and beat Unai Simon one-on-one for what proved to be the winner.

Replays suggested Mbappé was offside, as he was clearly not level with Eric Garcia.

However, it also emerged Garcia made contact with the pass, getting a small touch to it.

That was considered an intentional touch that reset the play, so Mbappé was not offside anymore.

“Anthony Taylor made a correct decision based on the existing law and its official interpretation,” Rossetti said as quoted by Dale Johnson.

“Garcia deliberately intervened to play the ball and the opponent (Mbappe) was not interfering with play.

“However this case shows us that the current interpretation of the law appears to be in conflict with the spirit of the law itself, which is to prevent any player from taking advantage from their offside position.

Italy to test new offside rules?

“UEFA’s stance is that there are ways to improve the wording to bring it into line with the aim of the offside law and of the spirit of the game.”

The IFAB’s and ABM takes place on November 25 and according to ESPN the rule’s modifications will be discussed.

According to Sky Sport Italia, modifications to the offside rule could be tested during Primavera games next season.

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Club by Club News

 NEWS

RELATED POSTS
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap