Premier League clubs agree 30-point Super League suspended penalty

by | Jun 9, 2021 15:28

The six Premier League clubs who signed up for the European Super League have been collectively fined £22m with the warning they’ll be docked 30 points if they join a similar project in future.

This effectively is the death knell for the plan, which now only has Juventus, Real Madrid and Barcelona committed.

Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur had been the English entries, but pulled out within 48 hours.

“The six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League have today acknowledged once again that their actions were a mistake, and have reconfirmed their commitment to the Premier League and the future of the English game,” read a statement.

“They have wholeheartedly apologised to their fans, fellow clubs, the Premier League and The FA.

“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22million, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes.

“Furthermore, the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction.

“Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine.

“The Premier League and The FA have worked closely together throughout this process and this agreement brings both investigations into the matter to a conclusion.”

Club by Club News


Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap