‘Not even VAR understands the handball rule’

by | Jun 16, 2021 20:25

Former Italy international Giuseppe Rossi was furious after Giorgio Chiellini’s goal against Switzerland was ruled out for handball.

The veteran captain went up against two Swiss players and the ball hit his hand as it fell to his feet. Chiellini smashed it home and celebrated with his teammates on and off the pitch, believing he had given Italy the lead against Switzerland at the Olimpico.

But after a VAR check, the Russian referee Sergey Karasev disallowed the goal for handball and Rossi reacted on social media.

“Come on!!!! Are we joking????? Not even VAR understands the handball rule,” the former Italy forward wrote on Twitter.

Manuel Locatelli has since given Italy the lead after starting and finishing a brilliant Azzurri attack, you can follow the action as it happens on the Liveblog HERE.

Club by Club News

 NEWS

RELATED POSTS
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap