Napoli have dominated the Italian Footballers’ Association (AIC) team of the year, with five players out of a possible 11 making the cut, while three representatives each from Inter and Milan complete the 2023 selection. 

The annual event, which has been running since 1968, involves several awards being handed out, including the club of the year, coach of the year and goal of the season, which were scooped up by Napoli, Luciano Spalletti and Khvicha Kvaratskhelia this time around. 

Another highlight is the team of the season, which brings together the best individual players from the calendar year gone by. 

The 2023 list is set-up in a 4-3-3 formation, with all 11 players coming from just three clubs. 

Milan’s Mike Maignan was chosen in goal. His fantasy back four comprises Napoli captain Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Bayern Munich’s summer acquisition Kim Min-jae, Champions League finalist Alessandro Bastoni and teammate Rossoneri teammate Theo Hernandez.

The 2023 midfielders include two Nerazzurri regulars in Hakan Calhanoglu and Nicolo Barella, while Napoli general Stanislav Lobotka has also been chosen. 

Perhaps the least surprising selections are the attackers, which include Milan’s creator-in-chief Rafael Leao, as well as the 2022-23 Capocannoniere winner Victor Osimhen and the Serie A MVP Kvaratskhelia. 

AIC Team of the Season

Mike Maignan (Milan); Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Kim Min-jae (Napoli), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Theo Hernandez (Milan); Stanislav Lobotka (Napoli), Hakan Calhanoglu (Inter), Nicolo Barella (Inter); Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli), Victor Osimhen (Napoli), Rafael Leao (Milan). 

One thought on “Italian Footballers’ Association name Serie A team of the year”
  1. At least it’s balanced.
    Most of the “best 11s” nowadays have 3 defenders, 4 attacking midfielders, and 3 strikers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tickets Kit Collector