Spanish referee Jesus Gil Manzano waved away Ukraine’s penalty appeals after Mykhailo Mudryk went down under a challenge from Bryan Cristante at minute 93.



Italy managed to qualify for Euro 2024 following a 0-0 draw against Ukraine at the BayArena in Leverkusen on Monday.

The game ended in controversy as the Ukrainians appealed for a penalty kick for a potential Cristante foul on Chelsea star Mudryk.

The 22-year-old got on the ball before the Roma midfielder who slightly touched his left foot.

Gil Manzano waved to play on, waiting for a silent VAR check which confirmed the referee’s decision.

Watch the incident in the video below:

7 thought on “Cristante-Mudryk challenge: Did Ukraine deserve a penalty kick against Italy? Video”
  1. Mudryk was already going down before he touched the ball. Nice try. Correct call by the ref and further confirmed by VAR.

  2. What replay did you watch manga cake? He didn’t touch the ball whatsoever.. I watched twitter angles and replays about a dozen times now. He went through Mydruk like a knife through butter. This couldn’t be anymore clear cut. If it was the reverse, Italians would be all over the referee and the coach would be on the field arguing with the referee.

  3. If Mudryk hadn’t dived so spectacularly he may have got a penalty. He was going for it and therefore made it too obvious for the ref.

  4. Be fair. It was a penalty. Imagine it would have been the other way round. A foul on the greatest diver of them all Chiesa on minute 93 when Italy needed a goal… we wouldn’t stop crying until the end of time.

  5. I watched the viaplay highlights and it sure looks like Cristante hits the ball first. In the end that is a 50-50 call

  6. I think of the player did not dive so hard, he would have got the penalty. I do should have been a penalty, but I believe he over sold it and it made the ref think….Nope.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Tickets Kit Collector