Coppa Italia format ratified

by | Jun 8, 2021 16:38

The new format for the Coppa Italia from 2021-24 has been ratified, with 20 Serie A clubs, 20 from Serie B and only four from Serie C.

The changes to the competition caused controversy, as it effectively cut the smaller teams out of the running entirely, and was initially meant to only have Serie A and B sides.

There was an adjustment to allow four teams from Serie C, although they will have to go through a preliminary round before entering the tournament.

As for the rest, it remains a tennis-style competition with eight top seeds who go in from the Round of 16.


Club by Club News


Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap