Champions League pots updated after Chelsea’s Champions League win

by | May 30, 2021 14:27 | News, Atalanta, Champions League, Inter, Juventus, Milan, Serie A

Chelsea have joined Inter in pot 1 after winning the Champions League, while Juventus are placed in pot 2 with Manchester United, Barcelona and Real Madrid.

Milan return to the Champions League for the first time in seven years, but will be placed in pot 4 in the Champions League group stage draw. Atalanta are in pot 3 with Ajax, Leipzig, Porto and Zenit.

Pot 1 consists of the title holders (Chelsea), the Europa League winners (Villareal) and the champions of the nations ranked highest by UEFA.

The clubs’ coefficients determine the remaining three pots depending on the sum of all points won in the previous five years or the association coefficient over the same period.

The Champions League begins in late June with a preliminary round, three qualifying rounds and a play-off round. All played over two legs. The six surviving teams enter the group stage, joining 26 teams qualified in advance.

Besiktas, Dynamo Kyiv and Club Brugge have already qualified for the Champions League and could end up in pot 3 or 4 depending on the outcome of the play-offs.

Champions League 2021-22 pots

Pot 1
Manchester City (ENG)
Atlético Madrid (ESP)
Bayern Monaco (GER)
Lille (FRA)
Villareal (ESP)
Inter (ITA)
Sporting Lisbon (POR)
Chelsea (ENG)

Pot 2
Real Madrid (ESP)
Barcelona (ESP)
Juventus (ITA)
Manchester United (ENG)
Liverpool (ENG)
Sevilla (ESP)
Borussia Dortmund (GER)

Pot 3
Ajax (NED)
Leipzig (GER)
Atalanta (ITA)
Porto (POR)
Zenit (RUS)

Pot 4
Milan (ITA)
Wolfsburg (GER)


Club by Club News


Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap