NEWS
Saturday August 24 2019
Probable line-ups: Parma-Juventus

Juventus are expected to start Paulo Dybala, Cristiano Ronaldo and Douglas Costa against Gervinho’s Parma, with Mattia De Sciglio preferred to Danilo.

The opening Serie A game of the 2019-20 season kicks off at the Stadio Tardini today at 17.00 UK time (16.00 GMT, 18.00 CET). Click here for a match preview.

Juve Coach Maurizio Sarri is left behind in Turin as he continues treatment for pneumonia, so assistant manager Giovanni Martusciello will be on the bench.

Aaron Ramsey and Roma transfer target Daniele Rugani haven’t made the trip either, but Ronaldo is back to full fitness and can start in a trident attack.

Dybala and Douglas Costa are the favourites to complete the forward line, although Gonzalo Higuain and Federico Bernardeschi are also options.

Sami Khedira has seemingly gone from outcast to starter in midfield, with Miralem Pjanic and new man Adrien Rabiot, while Leonardo Bonucci is likely to be given the nod rather than Matthijs de Ligt.

According to the latest reports, De Sciglio is preferred to Danilo, as Juve want a more defensive-minded full-back against the extremely fast Parma wingers.

Juraj Kucka is back in the Ducali squad, albeit only fit enough for a spot on the bench, so the midfield is likely to have new faces Gaston Brugman and Hernani.

Gervinho and Roberto Inglese remain from last season, but 19-year-old Dejan Kulusevski is the favourite rather than Yann Karamoh to complete the trident.

Kulusevski is on loan from Atalanta and already impressed in last week’s 3-1 Coppa Italia victory over Venezia.

Probable line-ups

Parma: Sepe; Laurini, Iacoponi, Bruno Alves, Gagliolo; Hernani, Brugman, Barillà; Kulusevski, Inglese, Gervinho

Juventus: Szczesny; De Sciglio, Bonucci, Chiellini, Alex Sandro; Khedira, Pjanic, Rabiot; Douglas Costa, Dybala, Ronaldo